Personal (Chicken) Pot Pies

2014-03-25 18.14.44

I love to find simple ways to cook my food separate from Adam’s.  You know, make sure all of the delicious vegetable are untainted by meat. 🙂  Making individual portions of the pot pie was the perfect way to do that!

When I was thinking of what to call this, I was inspired by Pizza Hut’s Personal Pan Pizzas.  I used to do Book-It in elementary school, so each month my family would go to Pizza Hut for dinner, and I would get a free personal pan pizza because I got enough stickers from the books I read.  Anyway…  In honor of two separate pot pies, I introduce to you the Personal Pot Pie.

2014-03-25 18.16.13

Meat for Adam? Vegetables for me? No problem!

Ingredients

  • 2 medium onions
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 red potato
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 lb skinless boneless chicken
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 Tbs flour
  • 1 Tbs rosemary
  • 1 Tbs thyme
  • 1 frozen pie crust, thawed
 

Directions

Grease 2 ramekins. Preheat the oven to 350 F.

2014-03-25 16.52.53

Chop onion.  Mince Garlic.  Peel and chop carrot.  Chop celery stalks.  Peel and chop potato.  Pretty much spend 10 minutes cutting everything up until tiny pieces.  (Next time I’ll cut the potato even smaller.)

Pour 2 Tbs olive oil into in a large skillet over medium heat.  Cook onion, garlic, carrot, celery, and potato until tender, about 15 minutes.

2014-03-25 16.59.38

Meanwhile, cut visible fat off chicken and cut into small chunks.  Cook in a small pan over medium heat with olive oil, salt, and pepper, tossing often to ensure all sides are cooked, about 8 minutes.  I’m definitely going to make these pieces smaller next time too.  Once the chicken is cooked, move it to a cool burner.  You can break the chicken into smaller pieces once it cools a bit if you want as well.

2014-03-25 17.18.40

Once the vegetables are cooked, mix in the frozen peas.  Put the vegetable mixture into the two ramekins (just for a few minutes).  In the same skillet, over medium heat, melt 1 Tbs butter.  Add  milk, and slowly whisk in flour.  Once mixed, add the vegetables back in with rosemary and thyme.

2014-03-25 17.18.11

Lay the dough out, and using the ramekin for size, cut out 4 circles of dough.  Place one in the bottom of each ramekin.  I tried to make my own dough, but it didn’t work well.  Next time, I’ll just use a pre-made pie crust.  It doesn’t really matter as long as the bottom is covered with some dough.

2014-03-25 17.22.03

Layer in the vegetables, and chicken if you so desire… and top with another layer of pie crust.  If the dough completely covers the vegetables so there are no air holes, make 4 slits with a knife into the dough.  If your dough was like mine, the vegetables had plenty of room to breath on their own!

2014-03-25 18.08.36

Pop it in the oven for 35-40 minutes, or until the crust begins to brown.  Make sure you let it cool for 10 minutes before eating.

2014-03-25 18.10.32

I was so excited to try my Personal Pot Pie, that I burnt my tongue and the roof of my mouth!

 

Serves 2
 
Prep time: 30 minutes active / 40 minutes inactive
Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

ALPHA BUTLER CHARLIE

I'm a mama who lives life by sarcastic humor, married to my perfect match.

F.I.T. Life Steph

Faith-Based, In Shape, Trying to be flexible as a USMC wife

Marine Corps Wives 101

Supporting Marine Corps wives through many other amazing and inspiring Marine Corps wives lives...

The Brixton Housewife

...not the stereotypical picture

thebrookcook

If I knew you were coming I'd have baked a cake...

Ocean View Kitchen

globally inspired food

East to West co.

let's adventure together

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Dinner Daydreams

Sharing my love for all things food related and constantly searching for inspiration

I'll Cook, You Wash

my adventures in the kitchen

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Seth Miller's Blog

Real questions by real people.

