Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

2014-03-29 14.54.48

This is my mom’s banana bread recipe.  I had this banana bread on Christmas morning.  Mom sent it to me in college care packages.  It was even part of breakfast on my wedding morning.  Needless to say, we have basically grown up together.

I recently found out that Mom won a prize for it at a Cape Cod Community Fair back in the day.  She thinks I should say that it is a secret family recipe, but this recipe originally comes from Fannie Farmer’s Cookbook as “Banana Nut Bread.”  I definitely prefer it with chocolate chips and peanut butter chips instead of walnuts, but I prefer almost anything with peanut butter or chocolate 🙂  I think I’ve made it about 4 times in the last month!  Adam and I are practically addicted to it!

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips and peanut butter chips (or walnuts or mini chocolate chips)
 

Directions:

2014-03-18 12.13.49

Whenever you had a banana that is about to go bad, throw it in the freezer.  Then about 2 hours before you need them, take the frozen bananas out to defrost.  They are very ripe and perfect for baking, although they don’t look too pretty!  You can see where there’s still frost on these bananas.

2014-03-18 14.31.25

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease loaf pan.  In a large bowl, combine bananas and eggs.  Add flour, sugar, salt and baking soda, and mix well.

2014-03-29 12.50.30

Stir in chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.

2014-03-29 12.52.56

Pour batter into loaf pan, and cook for 50-60 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.  Let it cool for 10 minutes before serving.  You can enjoy it today or cover, and enjoy for the next 4 days!

2014-03-29 14.54.33

Serves 8
 
Prep time: 10 minutes active / 60 minutes inactive
Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. lindaflanagan2014 April 6, 2014 at 11:59 pm Reply

    Becca, I am hosting a breakfast next Saturday and am going to use this banana bread recipe for the party. I have had your Mom’s banana bread and it is so yummy..

Leave a Reply

ALPHA BUTLER CHARLIE

I'm a mama who lives life by sarcastic humor, married to my perfect match.

F.I.T. Life Steph

Faith-Based, In Shape, Trying to be flexible as a USMC wife

Marine Corps Wives 101

Supporting Marine Corps wives through many other amazing and inspiring Marine Corps wives lives...

The Brixton Housewife

...not the stereotypical picture

thebrookcook

If I knew you were coming I'd have baked a cake...

Ocean View Kitchen

globally inspired food

East to West co.

let's adventure together

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Dinner Daydreams

Sharing my love for all things food related and constantly searching for inspiration

I'll Cook, You Wash

my adventures in the kitchen

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Seth Miller's Blog

Real questions by real people.

