Roasted Rosemary Potatoes and Asparagus

2014-04-20 14.46.33I love asparagus! I love asparagus! I love asparagus!! Have I mentioned that I love asparagus?  I love it so much that I never order it at restaurants because I know that they will only give me 4 measly spears, and all I will be left thinking about is how I want more!  Each week, I buy a pound of asparagus, and between me and Adam, it is gone in one night!

Usually I will roast whole stems of asparagus.  The first few spears on my plate at dinner will be cut up into bite size pieces and eaten properly with a fork and knife.  But after those first few, I grow very impatient.  There’s no way I can wait an extra thirty seconds to cut these up, I think.  Before you know it, I am attacking the asparagus – eating them like finger food, and thats how the pound of asparagus I bought is gone within 10 minutes!

The only way to ration asparagus in our house is to mix it with other foods.  Asparagus is a must for Easter, but trying to make one pound go as far as I could, I began mixing it with some other foods…

2014-04-20 14.46.50

*Inspired and adapted from A Family Feast’s Tuscan Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 lb. asparagus
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 425ºF.  Wash the potatoes and cut them into bite-size pieces, about 1″ with skin on.

2014-04-20 13.53.48

In a medium-sized bowl, mix white wine, olive oil, garlic, salt, and rosemary.  Add the potatoes and toss them with the sauce.

Spread the potatoes over a jelly roll pan and pop them in the oven for 50 minutes.  After 20 minutes, remove potatoes from oven and flip them with a spatula.  Roast for 20 more minutes and then remove potatoes from the oven again.

Meanwhile, wash asparagus and snap off the bottom parts.  Cut them into 1″ bite size pieces.  Don’t worry about seasoning the asparagus, because it will be roasting with the wonderful rosemary and olive oil on the potatoes.  When removing potatoes from the oven, add the asparagus and cook for the last 10 minutes.

2014-04-20 14.45.22

so nice and crispy!

Remove from the oven, and add more salt or pepper if desired.  Allow to cool for a few minutes and then enjoy!

2014-04-20 14.46.28

 

Serves: 4-6

Prep time: 10 minutes active / 50 minutes inactive

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Roasted Rosemary Potatoes and Asparagus

  1. Nancy April 23, 2014 at 3:07 pm Reply

    Oh yum…I love asparagus! If possible, I think I could love it even more with those potatoes. Love the crispy edges on the spuds! The dish looks perfect. 🙂

    • rebeccahance April 23, 2014 at 5:14 pm Reply

      Thanks! These is almost nothing as good as asparagus, but this is probably a close second in my book!

  2. BrixHouseWife April 26, 2014 at 5:25 pm Reply

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

ALPHA BUTLER CHARLIE

I'm a mama who lives life by sarcastic humor, married to my perfect match.

F.I.T. Life Steph

Faith-Based, In Shape, Trying to be flexible as a USMC wife

Marine Corps Wives 101

Supporting Marine Corps wives through many other amazing and inspiring Marine Corps wives lives...

The Brixton Housewife

...not the stereotypical picture

thebrookcook

If I knew you were coming I'd have baked a cake...

Ocean View Kitchen

globally inspired food

East to West co.

let's adventure together

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Dinner Daydreams

Sharing my love for all things food related and constantly searching for inspiration

I'll Cook, You Wash

my adventures in the kitchen

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Seth Miller's Blog

Real questions by real people.

