Broccoli and Asparagus Soup for Fiesta Friday

I’ve decided to join in on Fiesta Friday!  For more information about it, check out The Novice Gardner.  I discovered Fiesta Friday through one of this week’s host Butter, Basil, and Breadcrumbs – she posted this amazing-looking Molten Lava Cake, and I couldn’t resist checking it out!  To celebrate Friday, spring time, and asparagus, my contribution to the Fiesta is Broccoli and Asparagus Soup.

I have been on an extremely almost-obsessive asparagus kick for the last month!  Hey, if they’re only in season for a few months, why not take advantage of it?  I currently have 3 pounds of asparagus in the fridge, but some of it is for others too…

2014-04-20 14.29.16

Since we moved we’ve had about a week of filling out papers, waiting in lines at various offices, unpacking boxes, hanging pictures, and overall, preparing for TBS (The Basic School – this is the reason we moved to VA – it is the first stop for each Officer in the Marine Corps).  We moved here a bit early so we’d be able to get all of that stuff out of the way before TBS starts.  Goal: accomplished! Our to-do list has almost dwindled down to nothing.

But… back to why I have 3 pounds of asparagus in the fridge…  I wish it were all for me!  It’s because other Marines are starting to arrive for TBS, and since we are probably the only ones in the area now, we’ve taken on the role of host for the incoming officers that Adam knows.  Actually scratch that last sentence about being the only Marines in the area!  We live by a base – therefore there are Marines everywhere! You can’t go outside without seeing some sort of military decal on 20 cars (mine included :D).  Adam is probably the only one in his company for TBS in the area now, so we’ve offered to host a few incoming officers Adam knows before check in.  Our kitchen table will host more than 2 for the first time since the move!

2014-04-20 14.29.30

As I’m looking forward to some more asparagus for dinner the next few nights, here’s another way to used asparagus this spring!

*Barely adapted from Whole Food’s Spring Asparagus and Broccoli Soup

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/4 cups vegetable broth, divided
  • 1 leek, sliced
  • 1 medium Yukon Gold potato, peeled and cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1/2 lb. asparagus
  • 1 1/2 cup broccoli (1 cup if chopped)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 Tbs freshly chopped chives

Instructions:

2014-04-20 13.26.27

Bring 1/4 cup vegetable broth to a boil in a large pot.  Reduce heat and add leek, stirring until tender, about 6 minutes.

2014-04-20 13.32.24

Add remaining broth and potatoes and bring to a boil.

2014-04-20 13.40.00

Snap off the woody end of the asparagus, and cut in to 1″ pieces.  Add asparagus, broccoli, salt, and pepper to the pot and bring to a boil again.  Reduce heat to medium-low and allow the vegetables to simmer, covered, for 15-20 minutes, or until tender.

Remove pot from heat for 5 minutes to allow the soup to cool.  Carefully, spoon soup into a blender and puree, in batches if needed, until smooth.

Ladle soup into bowls, and garnish with chives.

2014-04-20 14.29.21

Serves 3-4

Prep time: 10 minutes active / 30 minutes inactive

 

”Fiesta

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Broccoli and Asparagus Soup for Fiesta Friday

  1. Jhuls April 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm Reply

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday!! I am glad that you have joined us! 🙂 This looks delicious!! Thanks for bringing it.

    • rebeccahance April 25, 2014 at 5:03 pm Reply

      I’m glad to be joining the fiesta 🙂 Thanks for the welcome!

      • Jhuls April 25, 2014 at 5:25 pm

        It’s my pleasure! 🙂

  2. Alex April 25, 2014 at 4:50 pm Reply

    Whoohooo welcome to the party. I love your enthusiasm for asparagus! I’ve never thought of making soup with them but it’s such a great idea!

    • rebeccahance April 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm Reply

      Thanks! I’m quite excited to join the party!

  3. […] Becca […]

  4. illcookyouwash April 25, 2014 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Hi Becca! Welcome and thanks for joining Fiesta Friday! You’ll definitely enjoy being here, I promise. The asparagus soup sounds delicious, I’ve never made soup but I’m sure it will be delicious. I like that you added the potato as well to thicken it out – my husband always appreciates that bit of heaviness to ground the lightness of the veggies. I find I’ve become very into greens nowadays – smoothies and soups and food. It just makes me feel healthier. Thanks for recipe and thanks for sharing!

    • rebeccahance April 25, 2014 at 9:25 pm Reply

      Thanks for the welcome! I am very excited to be joining! The potato makes such a difference to the texture in the best way! Ever since I was introduced to farm shares last fall, I have been very into greens too – they are so healthy and fresh! Thanks for hosting this week 🙂

      • illcookyouwash April 27, 2014 at 3:52 am

        🙂 I look forward to seeing what else you cook !

  5. acasadisimi April 25, 2014 at 9:36 pm Reply

    This recipe is delicious! thank you for having shared with us in the fiesta friday! kisses

  6. apsara April 26, 2014 at 3:02 am Reply

    Hi Becca! Found your blog just now through Fiesta Fridays. I love your soup, the asparagus with potato is a great idea. I like your story in your ‘about’ page too!

  7. chefjulianna April 26, 2014 at 7:57 pm Reply

    Mmm. I eat a lot of soup and your recipe is calling my name! I can’t wait to try it! Welcome to Fiesta Friday 😀

    • rebeccahance April 26, 2014 at 8:03 pm Reply

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy it as much as my husband and I did 🙂

  8. saucygander April 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm Reply

    I love asparagus too, but never had it in a soup, I will try this recipe for sure. The use of potatoes is a great idea! Welcome to Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  9. Kaila511 April 26, 2014 at 10:28 pm Reply

    This looks absolutely delicious! I had never heard of Fiesta Fridays before, but now I’m heading over to check out the other recipes as well 🙂 Happy Weekend!

    • The Novice Gardener April 27, 2014 at 3:52 pm Reply

      Now that you’ve found out about Fiesta Friday, Kaila, come and join! 🙂

      • Kaila511 April 27, 2014 at 7:41 pm

        I will! I’m just reading the guidelines now 🙂 Sounds awesome!

  10. The Novice Gardener April 27, 2014 at 3:50 pm Reply

    Hi, Becca, so nice meeting you! Welcome to Fiesta Friday! I hope you’re having fun and meeting new friends. Visiting and chatting up the other guests will do it :-). Your soup sounds delicious and healthy. Everybody should be eating this way, right?

    • Becca @ Boy Meats {my veggie} World April 27, 2014 at 7:50 pm Reply

      Seriously, eating healthy can be awesome! It’s been so much fun to join this week! I’m excited to get to know others better 🙂

  11. Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs April 30, 2014 at 2:05 am Reply

    Rebecca!! Welcome welcome welcome to Fiesta Friday!! I’m so happy you joined us…and with such a beautiful soup to bring to the table! Oh my gosh does that look delicious.. one that I know my family will love too. Thank you so much for sharing this with all of us, I know that everyone loved it as much as I do! 🙂
    I totally feel for you. I know that moving is probably a huge part of your life… but I told my husband that if he ever decides we’re moving again, it will have to be after we win the lottery…and I can leave the house and everything in it, and just start fresh!! Packing and unpacking is just so much work!!

Leave a Reply

ALPHA BUTLER CHARLIE

I'm a mama of two who lives life by sarcastic humor, married to my perfect match.

F.I.T. Life Steph

Faith-Based, In Shape, Trying to be flexible as a USMC wife

Marine Corps Wives 101

Supporting Marine Corps wives through many other amazing and inspiring Marine Corps wives lives...

The Brixton Housewife

...not the stereotypical picture

thebrookcook

If I knew you were coming I'd have baked a cake...

Ocean View Kitchen

globally inspired food

East to West co.

let's adventure together

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Dinner Daydreams

Sharing my love for all things food related and constantly searching for inspiration

I'll Cook, You Wash

my adventures in the kitchen

Fiesta Friday

Food + Friends = Fun

Seth Miller's Blog

Real questions by real people.

